Public Lab Barnraisings

### What is a Barnraising? A Barnraising is an event hosted by the Public Lab community. In the spirit of bringing a community together to collectively raise a structure such as a barn, Barnraising participants come together to test environmental monitoring tools in the field, brainstorm new research projects, share about environmental concerns, and develop strategies to address them. At the event, with the support of facilitators, people collectively set the agenda, and participate and collaborate rather than just present, talk at, and listen. People attending a Barnraising can expect to: improve social ties through in-person collaboration, participate in deep exploration of local environmental issues and ongoing community research, advance technical knowledge, and work with hands-on projects for local environmental monitoring and documenting new monitoring methods. ## Host a Barnraising See our [Host a Barnraising](/barnraising-host) page to find more resources on hosting your own Barnraising event. **** ### Past Barnraisings: * [2019 Barnraising: Galveston & Houston, USA](https://publiclab.org/wiki/barnraising-texas-2019) * [2018 Barnraising: Guangzhou, China](https://publiclab.org/wiki/barnraising-guangzhou-china) * [2018 Crisis Convening & Barnraising, Newark, New Jersey](/barnraising-newark-2018) * [2017 Barnraising: Cocodrie, Louisiana](https://publiclab.org/wiki/barnraising-2017) * [2017 Appalachia Barnraising](https://publiclab.org/wiki/appalachia-barnraising-2017) * [2016 Barnraising: Cocodrie, Louisiana](wiki/barnraising-2016) * [2016 Regional Barnraising, Val Verde, CA](https://publiclab.org/wiki/barnraising-val-verde-ca) * [2015 Barnraising: Cocodrie, Louisiana](/wiki/barnraising-2015) * [2015 Midwest Regional Barnraising: Chicago, Illinois](/wiki/2015-regional-barnraising) * [2014 Barnrasing: Cocodrie, Louisiana](/wiki/barnraising-2014) * [2014 Northeast Regional Barnraising: Plymouth, Massachusetts](/wiki/barnraising-northeast-2014) * [2013 Barnraising: New Orleans, Louisiana](/wiki/barnraising-2013) * [2012 Barnraising: Cocodrie, Louisiana](/wiki/barnraising-2012) * [2011 Barnraising: Asheville, North Carolina](/wiki/barnraising-2011) [![The_Barnraiser_--_Regional_Special_Issue_2016.jpg](//i.publiclab.org/system/images/photos/000/016/690/large/The_Barnraiser_--_Regional_Special_Issue_2016.jpg)](//i.publiclab.org/system/images/photos/000/016/690/original/The_Barnraiser_--_Regional_Special_Issue_2016.jpg) [![BR-afterPostcard_0.jpg](/i/29579)](/i/29579) [![BarnRaisins-chrisFastie.jpg](/i/29580)](/i/29580) ...

Follow
Learn more »

Title URL Last edited Edits Page Views Likes
Barnraising Texas 2019 /wiki/barnraising-texas-2019 10 months ago by liz 25 560 2
谷仓聚会 Barnraising Guangzhou, China /wiki/barnraising-guangzhou-china about 2 years ago by stevie 13 855 4
barnraising newark 2018 /wiki/barnraising-newark-2018 over 2 years ago by liz 7 317 0
Crisis Convening /wiki/crisis-convening over 2 years ago by devinb 1 326 2
Host a Barnraising 举办一个谷仓聚会 /wiki/barnraising-host about 2 years ago by shanlter 53 624 4
Barnraising 2017 /wiki/barnraising-2017 about 3 years ago by stevie 19 263 0
Appalachia Barnraising 2017 /wiki/appalachia-barnraising-2017 over 3 years ago by stevie 3 288 0
Barnraising Val Verde, CA /wiki/barnraising-val-verde-ca over 4 years ago by stevie 10 261 2
Barnraising 2015 /wiki/barnraising-2015 almost 4 years ago by warren 5 294 0
barnraising-21-2015-photos-liz /wiki/barnraising-21-2015-photos-liz about 5 years ago by liz 1 101 0
barnraising-20-2015-photos-liz /wiki/barnraising-20-2015-photos-liz about 5 years ago by liz 1 104 0
barnraising-19-2015-photos-dan /wiki/barnraising-19-2015-photos-dan about 5 years ago by danbeavers 1 136 0
barnraising-2015-photos-bronwen /wiki/barnraising-2015-photos-bronwen about 5 years ago by Bronwen 1 175 0
DOCCOM /wiki/doccom almost 2 years ago by warren 13 237 1
barnraising-19-2015-photos-liz /wiki/barnraising-19-2015-photos-liz about 5 years ago by liz 1 100 0
organizers-summit-2015-photos-liz /wiki/organizers-summit-2015-photos-liz about 5 years ago by liz 4 106 0
Barnraising 2015 Photos /wiki/barnraising-2015-photos about 5 years ago by liz 9 188 0
The Barnraiser /wiki/the-barnraiser almost 2 years ago by warren 100 479 4
2015 Regional Barnraising /wiki/2015-regional-barnraising over 4 years ago by liz 10 298 2
barnraising-2014 /wiki/barnraising-2014 almost 2 years ago by liz 18 309 3
barnraising-2014-photos /wiki/barnraising-2014-photos almost 2 years ago by cfastie 32 185 7
Northeast Barnraising 2014 /wiki/barnraising-northeast-2014 over 6 years ago by Hudonnoodles 40 314 3
2014 Northeast Tool-focused Barnraising /wiki/potential-2014-northeast-tool-focused-barnraising over 6 years ago by Hudonnoodles 10 124 2
Barnraising Foodcom /wiki/barnraising-foodcom almost 5 years ago by warren 17 104 -1