This is a testing site only. See the live Public Lab site here »


Public Lab Barnraisings

### What is a Barnraising? A Barnraising is an event hosted by the Public Lab community. In the spirit of bringing a community together to collectively raise a structure such as a barn, Barnraising participants come together to test environmental monitoring tools in the field, brainstorm new research projects, share about environmental concerns, and develop strategies to address them. At the event, with the support of facilitators, people collectively set the agenda, and participate and collaborate rather than just present, talk at, and listen. People attending a Barnraising can expect to: improve social ties through in-person collaboration, participate in deep exploration of local environmental issues and ongoing community research, advance technical knowledge, and work with hands-on projects for local environmental monitoring and documenting new monitoring methods. ## Host a Barnraising See our [Host a Barnraising](/barnraising-host) page to find more resources on hosting your own Barnraising event. **** ### Past Barnraisings: * [2019 Barnraising: Galveston & Houston, USA](https://publiclab.org/wiki/barnraising-texas-2019) * [2018 Barnraising: Guangzhou, China](https://publiclab.org/wiki/barnraising-guangzhou-china) * [2018 Crisis Convening & Barnraising, Newark, New Jersey](/barnraising-newark-2018) * [2017 Barnraising: Cocodrie, Louisiana](https://publiclab.org/wiki/barnraising-2017) * [2017 Appalachia Barnraising](https://publiclab.org/wiki/appalachia-barnraising-2017) * [2016 Barnraising: Cocodrie, Louisiana](wiki/barnraising-2016) * [2016 Regional Barnraising, Val Verde, CA](https://publiclab.org/wiki/barnraising-val-verde-ca) * [2015 Barnraising: Cocodrie, Louisiana](/wiki/barnraising-2015) * [2015 Midwest Regional Barnraising: Chicago, Illinois](/wiki/2015-regional-barnraising) * [2014 Barnrasing: Cocodrie, Louisiana](/wiki/barnraising-2014) * [2014 Northeast Regional Barnraising: Plymouth, Massachusetts](/wiki/barnraising-northeast-2014) * [2013 Barnraising: New Orleans, Louisiana](/wiki/barnraising-2013) * [2012 Barnraising: Cocodrie, Louisiana](/wiki/barnraising-2012) * [2011 Barnraising: Asheville, North Carolina](/wiki/barnraising-2011) [![The_Barnraiser_--_Regional_Special_Issue_2016.jpg](//i.publiclab.org/system/images/photos/000/016/690/large/The_Barnraiser_--_Regional_Special_Issue_2016.jpg)](//i.publiclab.org/system/images/photos/000/016/690/original/The_Barnraiser_--_Regional_Special_Issue_2016.jpg) [![BR-afterPostcard_0.jpg](/i/29579)](/i/29579) [![BarnRaisins-chrisFastie.jpg](/i/29580)](/i/29580) ...

Follow
Learn more »

Title URL Last edited Edits Page Views Likes
Barnraising Texas 2019 /wiki/barnraising-texas-2019 over 1 year ago by liz 25 560 2
谷仓聚会 Barnraising Guangzhou, China /wiki/barnraising-guangzhou-china over 2 years ago by stevie 13 855 4
barnraising newark 2018 /wiki/barnraising-newark-2018 about 3 years ago by liz 7 317 0
Crisis Convening /wiki/crisis-convening over 3 years ago by devinb 1 326 2
Host a Barnraising 举办一个谷仓聚会 /wiki/barnraising-host almost 3 years ago by shanlter 53 624 4
Barnraising 2017 /wiki/barnraising-2017 almost 4 years ago by stevie 19 263 0
Appalachia Barnraising 2017 /wiki/appalachia-barnraising-2017 about 4 years ago by stevie 3 290 0
Barnraising Val Verde, CA /wiki/barnraising-val-verde-ca about 5 years ago by stevie 10 263 2
Barnraising 2015 /wiki/barnraising-2015 over 4 years ago by warren 5 298 0
barnraising-21-2015-photos-liz /wiki/barnraising-21-2015-photos-liz almost 6 years ago by liz 1 101 0
barnraising-20-2015-photos-liz /wiki/barnraising-20-2015-photos-liz almost 6 years ago by liz 1 104 0
barnraising-19-2015-photos-dan /wiki/barnraising-19-2015-photos-dan almost 6 years ago by danbeavers 1 136 0
barnraising-2015-photos-bronwen /wiki/barnraising-2015-photos-bronwen almost 6 years ago by Bronwen 1 177 0
DOCCOM /wiki/doccom over 2 years ago by warren 13 239 1
barnraising-19-2015-photos-liz /wiki/barnraising-19-2015-photos-liz almost 6 years ago by liz 1 100 0
organizers-summit-2015-photos-liz /wiki/organizers-summit-2015-photos-liz almost 6 years ago by liz 4 106 0
Barnraising 2015 Photos /wiki/barnraising-2015-photos almost 6 years ago by liz 9 190 0
The Barnraiser /wiki/the-barnraiser over 2 years ago by warren 100 481 4
2015 Regional Barnraising /wiki/2015-regional-barnraising over 5 years ago by liz 10 300 2
barnraising-2014 /wiki/barnraising-2014 over 2 years ago by liz 18 311 3
barnraising-2014-photos /wiki/barnraising-2014-photos over 2 years ago by cfastie 32 187 7
Northeast Barnraising 2014 /wiki/barnraising-northeast-2014 almost 7 years ago by Hudonnoodles 40 317 3
2014 Northeast Tool-focused Barnraising /wiki/potential-2014-northeast-tool-focused-barnraising over 7 years ago by Hudonnoodles 10 126 2
Barnraising Foodcom /wiki/barnraising-foodcom over 5 years ago by warren 17 104 -1